Community Hero Award


The annual Community Hero Award was instigated by the Parish Council in 2009 to celebrate someone who has done outstanding voluntary work within the community for the benefit of the residents of the Parish.

Do you know someone who has given outstanding voluntary work in the Crigglestone Parish in a unpaid/voluntary capacity?

The nominated person does not have to live in the Parish as long as they make a difference in the Parish and to our community.  Candidates for this award need a nominator and a supporter, but neither of these people have to live in the Parish.  Please complete the nomination form and return to The Village Institute, 36 High Street, Crigglestone, WF4 3EB or email to  Closing date: TBC

The winner will be notified in December and presented with their award in January 2019

The Community Hero Award for 2017

Joint winners Beverley Wainwright and Margaret Poucher were nominated in recognition of their voluntary running of the 'Lite Lunch' which offers on a monthly basis, a warm meal and the opportunity to meet others. The ladies are seen below receiving their flowers and certificate from the Chairman Councillor Peter Daniels.

The runner-up certificate was presented to Lesley Brown who was nominated for her voluntary efforts over the last 10 yrs along with her late husband in developing a neglected area of the highways footpath verge on school Hill, Newmillerdam.


 The Community Hero Award for 2016 -  Winner Michelle Eardley was presented with flowers and a certificate.  Michelle was nominated in recognition of her 16 yrs of volunteering work with the Wakefield 45th Beaver Group. Michelle is seen here receiving her award from the Chairman Councillor Peter Daniels.


The runner up Certificate was presented Canon Roger Cressey for his continued work in the community

The Community Hero Award for 2015 was presented to Jackie Craven who was nominated in recognition of her contribution to many local youth, health and community groups. Jackie is seen here with her daughters and the Vice Chairman Councillor Paul Crompton.

 Certificates were also presented to two runners up -  Keith Wainwright and Margaret Skinner. 



The 2014 Award went to Mel Grunnel who was recognised for his voluntary work at the pottery workshop at Pennine Camphill Community.   L - R Mr Grunnel, Cllr Peebles and Mrs Grunnel.


The 2013 Award went to Kevan Norbury who was nominated in recognition of his contribution to the 45th Wakefield (Durkar) Scout Group. Kevan has been a uniform leader for the Group for over 20 years and Group Scout Leader since 2012. 

hero 2013  A

The Chairman also presented certificates to the two runners up -  Tony Betts and Christine Platten. 

hero 2013 B              hero cp 8 cut



Cynthia and Len Binns won the 2012 award in recognition of their support for the community through the Hall Green Community Association.   There were eight runners up for the award and they also received certificates.

 2012 hero group web


The photo below shows Councillor John Peebles with Jean Froggett and Ken Hartley in 2010.



The first  Community Hero Award was awarded to Keith Wainwright in recognition of his valuable contribution to the parish over many years.